Shantaram

Läser just nu den fantastiska Shantaram. Ett helt makalös självbiografisk livshistoria på 933 sidor av alldeles särskilt intresse för oss gamla indienluffare. En filmatisering ska tydligen vara på gång till 2009 med Johnny Depp i huvudrollen. Huvudperson är författaren själv, Gregory David Roberts. Jag citerar ett stycke från bokens första sida…
In my case, it’s a long story, and a crowded one. I was a revolutionary who lost his ideals in heroin, a philosopher who lost his integrity in crime, and a poet who lost his soul in a maximum-security prison. When I escaped from that prison, over the front wal, between two gun-towers, I became my country’s most wanted man. Luck ran with me and flew with me across the world to India, where I joined the Bombay mafia. I worked as a gun runner, a smuggler, and a counterfeiter. I was chained on three continents, beaten, stabbed and starved. I went to war. I ran into the enemy guns. And I survived, while other men around me died. Thery were better men than I am, most of them: better men whose lives were crunched up in mistakes, and thrown away by the wrong second of someone else’s hate, or love, or indifference. And I burried them, too many of those men, and grieved their stories and their lives into my own.”
Kommentera

